The Red Books of Scotland - Further information, Updates & Purchase Details

UPDATE: As of 19 February 2024, The Red Book of Scotland is available in a Fifth Edition. Now extending to 18 volumes, as well as updates to a considerable number of existing entries, new entries include:


Campbell of Carrick

Campbell of Duntroon

Campbell of Oib and Duntroon

Chalmer of Gaidgirth

Chisholm of Comar

Dunbar of Blantyre and Enterkine

Fairlie of Braid

Fenton of Fenton, Baikie and Beaufort

Fleming of Bord

Grant of Tullochgorm

Grierson of Lag

Hamilton of Bathgate

Hay of Dronlaw and Delgaty

Hay of Rannes and Mountblairy

Hay of Seafield and Murie

Hay of Ury

Home of Ayton

Lauder of Hatton

Lumsden of Blanerne

MacAlester of Loup and Kennox

MacDonald of Castleton

MacDonell of Glengarry

MacDonald of Lochalsh

MacDonell of Sandaig and Lochgarry

MacDonell of Scotus and Glengarry

MacKenzie of Dophinton

MacLean of Ardgour

MacLean of Kingairloch

MacLean of Torloisk

MacNeil of Barra

MacTavish of Dunardry

Martin of Lathones

Montgomery of Skelmorlie

Mortimer of Foulis

Moubray of Cammo

Muirhead of Rashiehill

Nicolson of Kemnay and Glenbervie

Nisbet of Northfield

Spalding of Kinalty

Stewart of Ardgowan and Blackhall

Stewart of Ascog

Stewart of Barscube

Stewart of Raiss and Halrig

Stewart of Schawood

Trotter of Mortonhall


Dr Joseph Morrow, CVO, CBE, KC, FRSE, The Rt Hon Lord Lyon King of Arms, very kindly agreed to provide the Foreword for this new edition, which can be viewed free of charge here: Red Book of Scotland Volume 18 Supplement and Bibliography



The current price per digital volume is £30. Concessions are available for reference libraries, societies, universities and colleges. Please contact to discuss further.

Should have purchased a volume/volumes within the last year you are eligible to request an updated edition/s free of any charge. Please contact for further details.


Content Vol 1 Abercromby - Barron

Content Vol 2 Bain - Bruce

Content Vol 3 Buchanan - Campbell

Content Vol 4 Cardney - Cunningham

Content Vol 5 Dalgleish - Drummond

Content Vol 6 Duddingston - Foulis

Content Vol 7 Foullar - Haliburton

Content Vol 8 Halkerston - Houston

Content Vol 9 Hunter -Livingstone

Content Vol 10 Lockhart - Maclean

Content Vol 11 MacLeod - Moncrieff

Content Vol 12 Moncur - Nairn

Content Vol 13 Napier - Porterfield

Content Vol 14 Preston - Rolland

Content Vol 15 Rollo - Stark

Content Vol 16 Stewart

Content Vol 17 Stirling - Young


The Red Book of Scotland is registered under the following ISBN numbers:

ISBN 10: 0-9545628-5

ISBN 13: 978-0-9545628-5


To purchase individual volumes please use the secure PayPal payment facility below, remembering to include your volume of choice in the text box.

Type Volume Number Here: